'Communities that Care' Awards Announced

The annual "Communities that Care" Awards are given each year by the OutCenter in Benton Harbor to recognize individuals, groups and/or organizations that have made exceptional efforts in the past year to move the work of the OutCenter, and the overall LGBTQ movement, forward. The 2017 winners will be formally presented during Lake Effect Pride on June 16 at the Pebblewood Country Club in Bridgman.

Charli Herman, Spanish teacher and co-founding advisor and Cindy Swem, guidance counselor and co-founding advisor - Buchanan High School Prism Gay-Straight Alliance

Becky Foster, president, Counseling Association of Southwest Michigan

Tracy Wagner, president elect, Counseling Association of Southwest Michigan

Dr. Dennis Waite, Department of Graduate Psychology & Counseling, Andrews University

Dr. Bradley Hinman, Department of Graduate Psychology & Counseling, Andrews University

Shane Peters, Superintendent, Bridgman Public Schools

Marilyn Haslett, middle school counselor and founding advisor, and Austin Carter, sophomore and founding member - Brandywine Middle and High School Gay-Straight Alliance

The OutCenter will also award the annual "Ally of the Year" during the event at 9794 Jericho Road. Tickets are available online at http://gaybe.am/sI in advance for $35 or $40 at the door. There will be appetizers, a cash bar, music and dancing, as well as a $10,000 drawing.

For more information, call 269-925-8330 or visit www.outcenter.org.
  • Latest News

Enter To Win

Enter contests to win great prizes like CDs, DVDs, concert tickets and more

Special Section: World AIDS Day
Rising Above

Activist Cleve Jones has lived an extraordinary life, filled with world-changing friends and figureheads from Harvey Milk to Dustin Lance Black.

View More World AIDS Day
This Week's Issue

Download or view this week's print issue today!