UPDATE FRIDAY July 30 Vote in the Aug. 3 Primaries

Michigan LGBT 2010 Primary Endorsements

hree LGBT political organizations have announced endorsements and recommendations in the Aug. 3 primary elections. Equality Michigan Pride PAC sent questionnaires to all candidates running for the Michigan state Senate and the Michigan state House of Representatives. EM-PAC based their endorsements on the responses on those questionnaires.

The Michigan Democratic Party's Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Allies Caucus examined the current positions, previous experience and leadership skills to determine their endorsements.

The Lansing Association for Human Rights PAC mailed questionnaires to candidates running for office in central Michigan. LAHR-PAC does not endorse; instead they rate candidates on a seven-point scale, from Extremely Negative to Extremely Positive, based upon their responses to the questionnaire, phone calls, voting records and public statements.

The Kalamazoo Alliance for Equality (KAFE) announced its endorsement of eleven candidates.

All four organizations' endorsements and recommendations are listed below. EM-PAC after the name means the Equality Michigan Pride PAC has formally endorsed, MI Dem LGBTA Caucus after the name means they have endorsed, KAFE after the name means they have endorsed and the LAHR-PAC ratings are all listed too.

Take this endorsement page with you when you go to the polls Aug. 3.

U.S. Congress:

Fred Johnson (2nd District) - MI Dem LG-BTA Caucus

Scott Withers (5th District) - MI Dem LGBTA Caucus

Mark Schauer (7th District) - MI Dem LG-BTA Caucus, LAHR-PAC rated Positive

Mike Rogers - LAHR-PAC rated Very NEGA-TIVE

Gary Peters (9th District) - MI Dem LGBTA Caucus

Natalie Mosher (11thDistrict) - MI Dem LGBTA Caucus

Sander Levin (12th District) - MI Dem LG-BTA Caucus

Governor:

Virg Bernero - EM-PAC, MI Dem LGBTA Caucus. KAFE, LAHR-PAC rated Extremely Positive

Michigan Senate:

dot com

Coleman A. Young (1st District) - EM-PAC

Bert Johnson (2nd District) - EM-PAC

Glenn S. Anderson (6th District) - EM-PAC and MI Dem LGBTA Caucus

Hoon-Yung Hopgood (8th District) - EM-

PRIDESOURCE

PAC

Frank Accavitti Jr. (9th District) - EM-PAC

Steve Bieda. (9th District) - EM-PAC

Carl Marlinga (10th District) - MI Dem LGBTA Caucus

Casandra E. Ulbrich (12th District) - EM-PAC

David Coulter (14th District) - EM-PAC and MI Dem LGBTA Caucus

Pam Jackson (15th District) - MI Dem LG-**BTA Caucus**

Rebekah Warren (18th District) - MI Dem LGBTA Caucus

Robert B. Jones (20th District) - EM-PAC, KAFE, and MI Dem LGBTA Caucus

Gretchen Whitmer (23rd District)- LAHR-PAC rated Positive

Rick Jones (24th District) - LAHR-PAC rated NEGATIVE

Paula Zelenko (26th District) - EM-PAC

David LeGrand (29th District) - MI Dem LGBTA Caucus

Debasish Mridha (32nd District) - EM-PAC

Roger Dunigan (35th District) - EM-PAC

Michigan House of Representatives:

Carol Banks (3rd District) - EM-PAC Fred Durhal Jr. (6th District) - EM-PAC Leslie Love (8th District) - EM-PAC Stacy Pugh (10th District) - EM-PAC Rashida Tlaib (12th District) - EM-PAC Frank Liberati (14th District) - EM-PAC Deb Kennedy (23rd District) - EM-PAC Frank Houston (26th District) - EM-PAC Lesia Liss (28th District) - EM-PAC Ken Lampar (30th District) - EM-PAC Woodrow Stanley (34th District) - EM-PAC Eric Coleman (35th District) - EM-PAC Vicki Barnett (37th District) - EM-PAC Lisa Brown (39th District) - EM-PAC Julie Candler (40th District) - EM-PAC Harold L. Haugh (42nd District) - EM-PAC Mary Ward (45th District) - EM-PAC Garry Post (47th District) - EM-PAC Jim Ananich (49th District) - EM-PAC Art Reyes (51st District) - EM-PAC Christine Green (52nd District) - EM-PAC Ned Staebler (53rd District) - MI Dem LG-**BTA Caucus**

Lonnie Scott (54th District) - MI Dem LGBTA Caucus

Sean McCann (60th District) - EM-PAC and KAFF

Grant Taylor (61st District) - EM-PAC and KAFE

Kate Segal - (62nd District) - EM-PAC Dave Morgan (63rd District) - EM-PAC and KAFE

Joan Bauer (68th District) - EM-PAC, and LAHR-PAC rated Positive

Mark S. Meadows (69th District) - EM-PAC, and LAHR-PAC rated Extremely Positive

Mark Eagle (71st District) - LAHR-PAC rated Positive

Cindy Ellis (78th District) - EM-PAC

Pamela Drake (85th District) - EM-PAC, LAHR-PAC rated Very Positive

Paul E. Opsommer (93rd District) - LAHR-PAC rated NEGATIVE

Vince Mosca (94th District) - EM-PAC Toni Sessoms (99th District) - EM-PAC and

MI Dem LGBTA Caucus Scott Dianda (110th District) - EM-PAC

County Commissioners:

Eaton County

Linda Keefe (District 10) - LAHR-PAC rated

Very Positive

Roger Harris (District 15) - LAHR-PAC rated Positive

Ingham County:

Victor Celentino (District 1) - LAHR-PAC rated Positive

Brian McGrain (District 3) - LAHR-PAC rated **Extremely Positive**

Rebecca Bahar-Cook (District 4) LAHR-PAC rated Extremely Positive

Andy Schor (District 5) LAHR-PAC rated **Very Positive**

Kenneth Peterson (District 5) -LAHR-PAC rated Negative

Dale Copedge (District 6) - LAHR-PAC rated Positive

Todd Tennis (District 7) - LAHR-PAC rated Positive

Penelope Tsernoglou (District 8) - LAHR-PAC rated Very Positive

Carol Koenig (District 9) - LAHR-PAC rated Very Positive

Mark Grebner (District 10) - LAHR-PAC rated Extremely Positive

Dianne Holman (District 11) - LAHR-PAC rated Positive

Deb Nolan (District 12) - LAHR-PAC rated **Extremely Positive**

Randy Shafer (District 13) - LAHR-PAC rated Positive

Liz Kranz (District 14) - LAHR-PAC rated Positive

Karen Dravenstatt-Moceri (District 15) -LAHR-PAC rated Positive

Barry Damon (District 15) - LAHR-PAC rated Positive

Vince Dragonetti (District 15) - LAHR-PAC rated NEGATIVE

Donald Vickers (District 16) - LAHR-PAC rated NEGATIVE

Kalamazoo County:

Robert Barnard, Kalamazoo County Commission District 3 - KAFE

Brian Johnson, Kalamazoo County Commission District 5 - KAFE

David Buskirk, Kalamazoo County Commission District 7 - KAFE

Scott Spicer, Kalamazoo County Commission District 12 - KAFE

Leroy Crabtree, Kalamazoo County Commission District 15 - KAFE

Paul Foust, Richland Township Trustee - KAFE

Macomb County

Fred Miller - (District 9) - EM-PAC

Oakland County

Mike McGuinness (District 5) - MI Dem LGBTA Caucus

Nancy Quarles (District 23) - MI Dem LGBTA Caucus

Craig Covey (District 25) - MI Dem LGBTA Caucus

Washtenaw County

Yousef Rabhi - MI Dem LGBTA Caucus

Ann Arbor city races:

Ann Arbor Mayor - John Heftje - MI Dem LGBTA Caucus

Ann Arbor City Council - Sandi Smith - MI Dem LGBTA Caucus

Court of Appeals 4th District (vote for 2):

Eaton County Probate Court

Ingham County Courts

LAHR-PAC rated Positive

PAC rated Very Positive

LAHR-PAC rated Very Positive

Between The Lines • July 29, 2010

TIVE

Positive

Donald Owens - LAHR-PAC rated Positive William Whitbeck - LAHR-PAC rated NEGA-

Allen Schlossberg - LAHR-PAC rated

Joyce Draganchuk (Circuit Court 30th) -

Gregory Crockett (Circuit Court 30th) - EM-

Amy Krause (District Court 54A) - LAHR-

Randie Kay Black (District Court 55) -

9

PAC, LAHR-PAC rated Extremely Positive