M.E.P.A.C. announces endorsements in state house races

By |2018-01-16T02:57:47-05:00July 24th, 2008|News|

M.E.P.A.C. the political action committee of Michigan Equality, announced its endorsements in races for the state house of representatives. The group endorsed 45 democrats and six republicans in 52 House District races. Of those endorsed, 17 are seeking re-election to their seats.
In order to receive an endorsement from M.E.P.A.C. a candidate must have a strong history in supporting the LGBT community. Such a history is evaluated by public votes, surveys and public statements of support for equality for the LGBT community.

1st: Timothy Bledsoe (D), Grosse Point
2nd: LaMar Lemmons, Jr. (D), Detroit
3rd: Bettie Cook Scott (D), Detroit
4th: Coleman Young (D), Detroit
5th: Bert Johnson (D), Highland Park
6th: Brian White (D), Detroit
7th: Lee Gaddies (D), Detroit
8th: George Cushingberry, Jr. (D), Detroit
10th: Gabe LeLand (D), Detroit
11th: Gary Pollard (D), Detroit
13th: Bo Schimers (D), Southgate
14th: Patrick O’connell (R), Allen Park
16th: Mario Fundarski (R), Dearborn Heights
19th: Steve King (D), Livonia
22nd: Jill Brandana (D), Taylor
23rd: Deb Kennedy (D), 19034 Seaton Drive
26th: Marie Donigan (D), Royal Oak
27th: Ellen Cogen Lipton (D), Huntington Woods
28th: Lesia Liss (D), Warren
29th: Tim Melton (D), Auburn Hills
31st: Fred Miller (D), Mount Clemens
32nd: Jennifer Haase (D), Richmond
34th: Woodrow Stanely (D), Flint
35th: Vincent Gregory (D), Southfield
36th: Greg Moore (D), Washington
37th: Vicki Barnett (D), Farmington Hills
38th: Douglas Curry (R), New Hudson
40th: Annette Keeble (R), Bloomfield Hills
45th: Scott Beaton (R), Rochester
45th: Randy Young (D), Rochester
49th: Lee Gonzales (D), Flint
50th: Ted Hammon (D), Burton
51st: Michael Thorp (D), Goodrich
52nd: Pam Byrnes (D), Chelsea
53rd: Rebekah Warren (D), Ann Arbor
54th: Alma Wheeler Smith (D), South Lyon
59th: Carol Higgins (D), Mendon
61st: Julie Rogers (D), Kalamazoo
63rd: Phyllis Smith (D), Vicksburg
67th: Barb Byrum (D), Lansing
68th: Joan Bauer (D), Lansing
69th: Mark Meadows (D), East Lansing
71st: Mark Eagle (D), Lansing
78th: Judy Truesdall (D), Niles
82nd: Jason Blauet (D), Metamora
82nd: Bernard Jocuns, Jr. (D), North Branch
82nd: Bill Marquardt (D), Lapeer
89th: Timothy Winslow (D), Spring Lake
95th: Andy Coulouris (D), Saginaw
98th: Garnet Lewis (D), Freeland
99th: Nancy White (D), Mt. Pleasant
100th: Bill Richards (D), Paris
101st: Dan Scripps (D), Northport
102nd: Nate Heffron (D), Cadillac
105th: Connie Saltonstall (D), Charlevoix
106th: Everett Swift (R), Hillman
108th: Janis Burgess (D), Menominee

For more information on these endorsements, please call Derek Smiertka, executive director of Michigan Equality Political Action Committee at 248-321-1887, or e-mail him at [email protected]

About the Author:

BTL Staff
Between The Lines has been publishing LGBTQ-related content in Southeast Michigan since the early '90s. This year marks the publication's 27th anniversary.