Equal marriage throughout the world

By |2001-04-07T09:00:00-04:00April 7th, 2001|Uncategorized|

Here is the legal status of equal marriage in Europe and other parts of the world:
Belgium: Legalized equal marriage in 2002.
Britain: Plans to introduce legislation soon authorizing civil unions giving gay couples legal recognition with most of the rights enjoyed by married partners.
Canada: Considering legislation to legalize equal marriage.
Denmark: The first country to legalize same-sex unions in 1989, later giving couples adoption rights. Other Nordic countries followed in the 1990s.
France: Allows civil unions since 2000.
Germany: Introduced civil unions in 2001.
Italy: Does not recognize same-sex unions.
The Netherlands: Became the first country to legalize equal marriages outright in 2001.
Portugal: Lesbian and gay couples who live together acquire the same rights as heterosexuals in common-law marriages.
Spain: Like most Roman Catholic countries, Spain does not recognize gay unions. But some northern regions, such as Navarra and the Basque country, recognize gay common-law couples and accord them rights of spouses.
South Africa: Recognized gay rights in its constitution after apartheid ended in 1994. Activists are preparing litigation to have the common law definition of marriage extended to include same-sex couples.
Switzerland: Its largest city, Zurich, started recognizing registered gay couples last July. Geneva also recognizes same-sex couples, although grants them fewer rights. Swiss authorities are considering whether to introduce a national law to harmonize treatment throughout the country.

About the Author:

BTL Staff
Between The Lines has been publishing LGBTQ-related content in Southeast Michigan since the early '90s. This year marks the publication's 27th anniversary.