Click Here!

‘I Feel So Empowered’: ’Drag Race’ Star LaGanja Estranja Comes Out as Trans

By |2021-06-17T11:49:09-04:00June 17th, 2021|National, News|

LaGanja Estranja, self-proclaimed cannabis activist and Season 6 contestant on “RuPaul’s Drag Race,” has come out this Pride Month as trans. The news was first reported by Entertainment Weekly on Tuesday. Shortly after, Estranja took to social media.

“I know, not even that long ago, so many of my trans sisters and brothers did not receive the love and support I’m receiving today in coming out,” she posted on Twitter. “I recognize how privileged I am and I want to say thank you for all of those who came before me and made it so today could be so joyous.”

Later, Estranja elaborated on Instagram.

“I feel so empowered that I don’t have to hide in the shadows as I make this journey. … I am so proud to identify as trans and to be living my truth. Happy PRIDE, you are beautiful as you are.”

To EW, Estranja was a little more detailed, admitting she had first tried identifying as non-binary.

“People think that when you’re trans that you’ve wanted to be a girl your whole life; yes, that’s partly true [for me], but it’s also true that I’ve wanted to be male my whole life to fit into what society deems as normal,” Estranja told the magazine. “But, that isn’t my truth, and I’m daring to take this on. I tried to be male and be in-between and nonbinary. The truth is I’m a feminine entity and I can live this life.”

Estranja will return to TV this summer as a cast member of “RuPaul’s Drag Race All-Stars 6,” which premieres on Thursday, June 24 on Paramount+.

About the Author:

Jason A. Michael has been with Pride Source since 1999 and is currently senior staff writer. He has received both the Spirit of Detroit Award (presented by the Detroit City Council) and the Media Award from the Community Pride Banquet & Awards Ceremony for his writing and activism. Jason is also an Essence magazine bestselling author for his authorized biography "Strength Of A Woman: The Phyllis Hyman Story," released on his own JAM Books imprint.
Click Here!