• Rep. Jon Hoadley

Rep. Jon Hoadley Nominated for Legislator of the Year Award

BTL Staff
By | 2019-04-03T15:11:12-04:00 April 3rd, 2019|Michigan, News|

Progress Michigan has named six finalists for its 2018 Legislator of the Year award. Rep. Jon Hoadley (D-Kalamazoo) is one of those finalists. Hoadley reacted on Twitter.

The award goes to an elected official who has demonstrated a commitment to a government of the people, by the people and for the people.
Along with other LGBTQ voices in the state legislature, Hoadley fights for equality in the state House. He is focused on social justice and the environment.
“Michigan saw a lot of elected officials turn a blind eye to the concerns of the people during eight years of total Republican control. But we know there are many elected officials working hard to make a difference,” said Lonnie Scott, executive director of Progress Michigan. “The Legislator of the Year allows our organization and our supporters to lift up some of the great work happening that may not get headlines. We look forward to seeing the results of the online vote and presenting the 2018 Legislator of the Year award to a progressive champion who truly puts the people of Michigan first.”
The nominees for Legislator of the Year are Rep. Darrin Camilleri, Sen. Stephanie Chang, Minority Leader Christine Greig, Rep. Vanessa Guerra, Rep. Jon Hoadley, and Rep. Yousef Rabhi.
The online vote begins Wednesday, April 3 and goes through Friday, April 12. Anyone interested in casting a vote can do so here.

About the Author:

BTL Staff
Between The Lines has been publishing LGBTQ-related content in Southeast Michigan since the early '90s. This year marks the publication's 25th anniversary.