Click Here!

Stonewall Democrats Endorse 25 for Congress

By |2012-06-28T09:00:00-04:00June 28th, 2012|News|

National Stonewall Democrats announced the group’s first 25 endorsements June 26,including six out LGBT candidates. Michigan’s Trevor Thomas, who is running in the state’s 3rd Congressional District is included. The partisan organization has a rolling endorsement process, so more endorsements are expected as the election season moves forward.


Tammy Baldwin – Wisconsin
Sherrod Brown – Ohio
Shelley Berkley – Nevada
Dianne Feinstein – California
Kirsten Gillibrand – New York
Bernie Sanders – Vermont

House of Representatives:

Ami Bera – CA-7
Tim Bishop – NY-1
Andre Carson – IN-7
David Cicilline – RI-1
Steve Cohen – TN-9
Keith Ellison – MN-5
Rush Holt – NJ-12
Sheila Jackson-Lee – TX-18
John Lewis – GA-5
Michelle Lujan-Grisham – NM-1
Jerrold Nadler – NY-8
Nancy Pelosi – CA-12
Mark Pocan – WI-2
Jared Polis – CO-2
Jan Schakowsky – IL-9
Debbie Wasserman Schultz – FL-23
Mark Takano – CA-41
Trevor Thomas – MI-3
Dina Titus – NV-1

Baldwin, Cicilline, Pocan, Polis, Takano and Thomas are out LGBT candidates.
Of the four out members of the current Congress, all are in the House. Rep. Barney Frank (D-Mass.) is not running for re-election, however, and Baldwin is seeking a Senate seat – leaving Polis and Cicilline as the only out incumbents seeking re-election. There are no out LGBT Republicans in the 112th Congress.
Log Cabin Republicans endorsed Sen. Scott Brown (R-Mass.) on the day that “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” ended, Sept. 20, 2011, for his 2012 re-election. This March, the group also endorsed out LGBT candidate Richard Tisei in his run to unseat Rep. John Tierney (D) in the sixth district of Massachusetts.
The Human Rights Campaign endorsed Brown’s opponent, Elizabeth Warren, earlier this year, but Warren was not one of today’s endorsements by Stonewall Democrats.

About the Author:

Between The Lines has been publishing LGBTQ-related content in Southeast Michigan since the early '90s. This year marks the publication's 27th anniversary.
Click Here!