Last week Michigan’s Emergency Vehicle Caution Law, well-known as the Michigan Move over Law, took effect. In an attempt to prevent injury and death to first responders, this law requires motorists to slow down to at least 10 mph under the posted speed limit and move over for stationary emergency vehicles with their lights activated. Failing to do so could cost a driver two points on their license and $400, while causing death or injury could result in a felony charge and include up to 15 years in prison and a $7,500 fine.
This law applies to the following vehicles:
– Road Service: including tow trucks and courtesy vehicles operated by the Michigan Department of Transportation.
– Road Maintenance
– Utility Service
– Solid Waste Hauler
The Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning has published a brochure to educate motorists about the topic with included frequently asked questions and answers and a visual guide. To find out more go online to michigan.gov.